Relax...Your beds are made and towels provided on weekly rentals for all of our properties!
Go back
Great location, close to the beach, on the canal, nice layout, plenty of TVs for the kids. The adults really enjoyed the sun room and view. We had a fun and relaxing week. Plan to return next year.
Fantastic! Many travelers to our area don't realize the magic of staying canal or marsh front within walking distance to the beach. So glad you discovered it at Caskey's Cache and enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you back next summer!
The house was the "old Litchfield Beach" style which I happen to love. Old and worn but uncomplicated and sufficient. The canal location is really nice. House has adequate content, certainly nothing fancy. I would stay almost anywhere on this beach anyway because of the cool location and of its meaning to me.
Thank you for sharing!
This house is in a perfect location just minutes to the beach and right on the marsh. The house had all the items you need for a weeks vacation. One of the reasons that I rented the house is for the location and the previous reviews. My kids loved the fishing/crabbing accessories that were there to use. We bought a few items and just left them for the next guests. I would have loved a more comfortable master bedroom bed.
Thank you for sharing! Your suggestion will be shared with the owner. We look forward to having you back - again and again!
Our children and grandchildren and our shih zhu stayed the whole week, with family members coming and going and really enjoyed it. The only thing I have to say is I wish t he downstairs apt. had an inside stairway. The beds dishes, silverware and glasses were the best we've had in a long time. It was a great vacation.
Wonderful to hear how your family had a "great vacation" at Caskey's, despite the external ground floor access – a common design feature in the beach homes here. The owner will be pleased to know his efforts to accommodate his guests is appreciated! Thank you for sharing!
We've stayed in this house many vacations now and plan to return next year. This is an older house with some remodeling done through the years. Sleeps 8 very comfortably. Has four tv's (largest looks about 40") plus wifi. I have a couple other reviews on this house so this will be an update, as our use has evolved, things we like most about the property have evolved. 1) This is near the south end of Litchfield, and the beach is less crowded there. 2) The downstairs supply room has a nice accumulation of beach and fishing/crabbing equipment (some we left years ago and still re-use). There's now a large wagon to haul coolers and chairs to the beach with. 3) Location! Canal access is nice and there's an infinite supply of blue crabs to catch. Just three houses down is a boat ramp to load into the canal that gets you to the marsh. It's close enough to walk a paddle board or kayak to. And quick to load a johnboat via trailer. If you want big water (Waccamaw river), the house is 10 minutes from Hagley's landing. 4) As I mentioned before, Sunday-Sunday is the way to go. Much less traffic everywhere. 5) There is a ton of parking in the carport. Not much I can think of for negatives on this place. There have been some significant rent increases over the past few years but like I said, we still plan to return.
Thank you for taking the time to provide another review with so many helpful and thoughtful details about Caskey’s Cache. The owner cherishes this home for fishing getaways and will be thrilled to hear how you have discovered its diverse accommodations for similar visits of your own! We look forward to your return next summer!
This is an update to a previous review (MB from Irmo). We continue to thoroughly enjoy this house! It is open, airy, well cooled, very well stocked inside and out, good beds, linens and towels are provided, and Sunday-Sunday so we avoid the awful Saturday beach traffic. It easily accommodates two families and everyone has their space. Pet friendly but no apparent signs of that. Litchfield Real Estate is very customer service oriented but since we've been renting this house we haven't needed them. Pros: 1) Well stocked for recreation, with Ducane grill, two large crab traps, storage room has (among other accumulated stuff) fishing poles, several surf rod holders, nets, minnow bucket, beach chairs, beach toys, boogie boards. 2) Downstairs bedroom recently redone with new window a/c, room stays cool and dry. 3) New major and minor appliances in kitchen (but they lost the vented hood I mentioned previously). 4) Convenient second refrigerator/freezer in laundry room. 5) Huge screened in front porch with several large rockers (note these are basically out in the weather thus coated with beach mist like everything else), plus large air-conditioned sunroom at rear that is very bright and clean (can close this off for privacy if needed). 6) Covered parking for four (our Tundra fit fine), but careful backing in or out. 7) This is near the end of Sundial, so it's toward the (even) less crowded end of the beach and less drive by traffic. 8) Bring your jonboat or kayak. There's an unmarked public boat landing just a few houses down. 9) House has extremely convenient access to everything, 2 minute walk to dunes, 50 yards to main marsh (boat ramp is right at the main marsh). 10) Ice machine in upstairs freezer cranks out a lot. Cons: 1) If it matters, TV's are small, only one is an HD tv and it has a standard-def cable box. 2) Outdoor shower isn't enclosed. 3) Pillows are worn so bring your own if you're picky. 4) We'll see a few ants here and there but that's about it. Lastly, to put some other reviews into perspective, keep in mind that although highly updated, this is still a 50-something year old beach house situated close to a saltwater marsh and the ocean. True, some of the screen doors have rusted hardware and maybe the doorknobs are old, but if you're looking for a 'real' house in the Pawley's/Litchfield area (ie, one with some character) those minor things won't matter to you either. If it were any 'nicer', I'd be apprehensive about using it as it's intended. The owners take good care of it; we've stayed at several through the years but we've been coming back to this one the past five. For the money, I highly recommend this property.
What a wonderful home and location! House accommodated our group of 8 very comfortably. As comfortable as the home was we spent the majority of the time enjoying the screened porch, back deck, and canal dock. Only a short walk through the quiet neighborhood to the beach. Only a short ride to Murrells Inlet with plenty of dining and night life options. The ladies at Litchfield Real Estate made a wonderful recommendation in this property!
Great service from Trisha Smith at Litchfield Real Estate!! We had to book last minute and she found the perfect place!!!Great house and location to everything...ocean on one side creek on the other!! Enjoyed the sunsets,crabbing,and fishing:) We even made it to Charleston!! It was the perfect place to spend time with our family and made our vacation all the more perfect and memorable!!!
Our third time @ Caskey's Cache. A wonderful beach home that makes you feel happy to be there. The sunroom is fantastic for relaxing and enjoying the moment. Litchfield Real Estate Ladies always make you feel like family. Love coming down each year.Thanks!!! & the fishing was fantastic!!!
We are glad your family had a great time relaxing and fishing! Thank you for sharing your comments. We'll see you on the beach next year!
We had a great time at this location. The house was in very good condition and well maintained. The bedrooms and bathrooms were very comfortable and the kitchen was well equiped. The large open floor plan in the living room works well for families and the sunporch is a great area for relaxing in smaller groups. The only thing I would love to see added to the house is a floating dock or improved steps down to the water level. The height of the stationary dock makes if difficult to get into a boat on the canal and the concrete block steps have deteriorated so that they are are little unsafe to use. We all love to fish and spent many hours on the creeks and would just like easier access to our boat. Overall a great place for family vacations. The Holland Family
Thank you for telling us about your stay in Caskey's Cache! We will pass along to the owner your suggestion about a floating dock. We hope to see you again very soon!
We enjoyed our stay. The place had everything we needed. It could definitely use some updating, but for a beach house it was just fine. Getting our kayaks in and out of the water was a little tricky without a floating dock but we managed.Things that could have been better: the bathroom linoleum counter tops are peeling up, the tub drained very, very slowly, some of the lights (inside and outside) were not working, the porch furniture was really dirty, the storage room was a mess, the landscaping was overgrown, and underneath the furniture needed to be swept (lots of dog hair and old dog toys).
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Caskey's Cache! We wish you had called us with your concerns - we ask each and every guest to please call us as soon as they notice a problem. We also call each guest a day or so after their arrival to make sure everything is ok and didn't hear anything to let us think you had concerns. The owner did have some rugs he removed from the house stored in the storage room which he removed when he came in after your departure. We hope you will give Caskey's another chance in the future!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Caskey's. Plenty of room, plenty of kitchen wares. We loved being on the creek and taking our boat out in the evenings. Litchfield Real Estate is awesome. They left us ample supply of toilet paper, soaps and dish detergents. They also replaced two dead DVD players the first day we were there. The house is a bit dated, but it is still a very comfortable place for families and pets. The location to the beach is very easy - only a 1 short block and you are on the beach. Bring a wagon for your chairs. We will be back next year!
Thank you for your review of Caskey's Cache, and thank you for your compliment on Litchfield Real Estate! It is a very comfy canal-front home! We look forward to seeing you and your family about next year!
We stayed at Caskey's Cache from Jun 7 to June 17, 2012. When we arrived maintenance workers were removing living and dining room rugs a previous guest had complained about. We found beautiful hardwood floors that were perfect because we had our dog with us. The house is large, open, airy and comfortable. The beds were comfortable. We love having the beds made and the towels there for us, such a luxury! Lre staff called to make sure everything was in good shape for us. We had a problem with the outlet in the south bathroom. They had electricians come over immediately and fix the problem. They are the best. We had a new stove and microwave, very nice. The best part of the house is the Carolina Room. We practically lived in this room. The canal dock was great. We fished and crabbed every day. We would rent this house again. The only suggestion I have is to replace the carpet in the Carolina room with tile or vinyl. Loved this house and had a perfect week. And if it rains, you don't have to go out into it to load or unload your car, it's covered.
Thank you for sharing with us about your stay in Caskey's Cache - it sounds like you had a wonderful time! We will pass along to the owner your suggestion about the carpet in the Carolina room. Please come back to see us and stay in Caskey's very soon!
I recently stayed here with my family and the location was great. We were one block from the beach any it was easy to get to. We pulled our beach wagon, but were unable to use it beacuse of the 2 flights of steps to get to the beach. The home was equippied with lots of kitchen supplies and that was great because I cooked every meal. The only downfall is that the house is old and so is the electrical work. Only a few outlets worked in the kitchen and we had to reset the breaker box quite often to use appliances.The fridge in the laundry room smelled real bad and needs to be replaced,the cool control setting was broken and our food got warm and we had to throw it away. We enjoyed the dock on the canal out back and were successful in catching crabs and some fish. The children would have stayed out there all day if we let them.I know the home is pet friendly, but the area rug in the living area needs to be cleaned or replaced. I would not walk without my shoes on. The air conditioning unit in the downstairs bedroom was not working and the bed linens had mildew on them. i called the rental agency and they sent out a maintance man out asap and he had to fix the electrical wiring to the ac unit to get it working. Overall, We had a wonderful vacation and the street was quiet and close to everything we needed. I just love Litchfield Beach.
Thank you for your review of Caskey's Cache. The location is great and what a wonderful, fun time on the canal! Just prior to your arrival a new stove was put in, and we suspect that was what was behind the breakers tripping. We wish you had mentioned that to us when you call about the downstairs a/c so we could have the electricians come and check it out. We do hate it was a problem! The rug in the living room has been removed as it is difficult to keep clean - thank you for bringing that to our attention. We hope to see you and your family again very soon - we love Litchfield Beach, too!
Like the shady, casual atmosphere...especially suited for watching pelicans ,kingfisher & herons...warblers, cardinals & friends serenading...crabbing in creek...etc
You found the true essence of Caskey's Cache and Litchfield/Pawleys Island - nature at its very best! Come back again very soon - there are different birds each and every season!
Our first beach stay over Thanksgiving and this was perfect. Loved the view of the canal & having our own dock. So close to the beach too. We have 2 dogs that love beach vacations & this place was perfect with the screened in porch and sun room. We have plenty of space. Big kitchen. We did not cook much, but would have probably not like the oven as it is pretty old. We did not use it though so not sure about it's performance. Great house!
We're glad you enjoyed your Thanksgiving in Caskey's Cache! It is a very popular beach house because of the canal, the closeness to the beach, and, of course, because you can bring your "four-legged family members!" We hope to see you again very soon!
This house is nice visually, however accommodations are a little dated... definitely more modern make over... most of the beds are very uncomfortable, no mattress pads (just plastic), bathrooms are also a little dated, one of the shower doors would not shut. Light switches were very difficult to figure out, especially outdoor lights. Otherwise, kitchen was fully stocked, walk to beach was easy and close.
Thank you for your review of Caskey's Cache! We will pass along these suggestions to the owners - they are very responsive and will thank you for the suggestions! We hope to see you and your family for your 2012 vacation!
We loved the house. The location was the best of both worlds - on the water, but not ocean front price. The sunsets over the marsh were spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed the dock overlooking the canal. The kids were able to catch tons of crabs which kept them entertained for hours. The kitchen was fully stocked which made life easier too. The home is in excellent condition and we had everything we needed and then some. We plan to come back next year, which is a first for us.
Wonderful! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Caskey's Cache and look forward to seeing you again next year! But next year we're all coming over for a crab dinner!
We enjoyed Caskey's Cache for many reasons: reasonable price, liked the layout of the house, liked the way cupboards & closets were stocked with soaps, paper products, cleaners, chairs, umbrellas, etc., loved the canal & dock, good water pressure, good aC, good washer & dryer, good knives, close to beach and easily accessible, can't remember anything that was "broken". The only thing we had trouble with was garbage. We wished it was more clear when the garbage is picked up and what are the regulations.
Thank you for your review of Caskey's Cache! And - thank you for your suggestion! We will work on making it more clear as to when the garbage is picked up and what you should do with it! Hope to see you and your family again very soon!
Litchfield Realty staff was very friendly and accommodating. However, the house was not as clean as should have been when we checked in. Kitchen floor and rug were quite dirty, staff member took rug to be cleaned and re-mopped the floor. The linoleum was worn out and should be replaced. Bathrooms need serious updating, particularly the commodes. Some mold around the sink and tub in master bath. Screen door in front needs repair or replacement. Carpet in dining room had numerous stains (effort made to remove stains on day of check-in did not work). Mildew or something was blowing out of the overhead vents. Blinds and screens in sunroom need repair. The pantry did not have much room for our food items because it was used for storage of various things like tools, paint, bug sprays, etc. The location of this house is great -- near the beach, on the canal with nice dock, close to restaurants and stores, but we would not consider renting again unless some of the above negatives were addressed.
Thank you for sharing with us your thoughts on Caskey's Cache. We are glad you called our office to let us know things weren't as you wanted - we encourage all guests to do that! We will pass along to the owner your suggestions about the kitchen linoleum, updating the bathrooms, and the blinds and screens in the sunroom. We'll also take a look at the screened door and the mildew in the baths plus check out the heat system. It could be this was dust that had accumulated since last year because this was probably the first time the heat had been turned on this year. The owner already has plans in the off-season to replace the dining room rug. We wish you had mentioned to our staff member your concern about pantry space - there are a couple of empty kitchen cabinets for guests to use. It does have a wonderful location and we hope you'll give Litchfield Real Estate and Caskey's Cache another chance in the future!
The house was large and comfortable, but not too clean and there was some kind of insect in the small bath. I had to squash them every morning before I took my shower. They disintegrated when touched with toilet paper - not sure what they were. Also small bath smelled. The house location was outstanding - close to everything.
Thank you for telling us about your stay in Caskey's Cache. We hate your vacation had some issues! We ask our guests to give us a call when they arrive at their rental homes if the cleaning isn't satisfactory or if they have maintenance issues (such as bugs) so we can remedy the situation. This is a great house and we hope you will be back!
This is our 6th year vacationing at Litchfield and we wanted a somewhat nicer house than we'd been renting. This was perfect. Very convenient beach access, plenty of covered parking, very comfortabe beds and strong ac. Kitchen is large with plenty of storage and vented range. House had a gas grill and lots of beach chairs, toys, and fishing tackle in the storage room. Two refrigerators is a plus. Wish the outdoor shower was enclosed, that would avoid a lot of beach crud entering the house. Only drawback is the largest tv is 19", we don't come here to watch tv but it seems inconsistent with the recent remodeling. Saw a few ants but no other bugs, which is amazing. Sunday to Sunday is the way to do it--bypassing the bulk of traffic. Litchfield Real Estate is extremely responsive--in this case delivering the coffee we look forward to each year. Highly recommended.
Everything was wonderful. The house is in excellent condition and was everything we wanted..Thanks Litchfield Real Estate.
You are welcome! Wonderful vacations are our goal! The owner of Caskey's takes excellent care of this home and it shows! Come back to see us soon!
We loved the place overall. We had family come to visit us for one of the weeks and their reaction was the same. One disappointment was the pet odor in the living room. Even with room deodorizers we could not eliminate the smell. We could not locate the source, but the numerous spots on the rug were the prime suspect. Working with Litchfield as an intermediary,we found that the owner is also a most helpful gentleman willing to do what what he can to make your stay pleasant. As to the space, there is plenty for a group of eight. And on those occasions when too many want to talk at the same time, there are plenty of options. The Carolina room is delightful and on sunny days the pier is a pleasant place to sit and watch the various species of birds and water foul. Dishes and cookware are plentiful. There must be enough to serve 30 (we didn't count)at one time.
We are so happy you had such a great experience at Caskey's Cache! It is a great house and one of the "crowd favorites" here at Litchfield Real Estate! We are sorry you had a concern regarding the carpets, and only wish you had called us! We could have gotten a carpet cleaner over while you were out to clean those problem spots. You are right - the owner is a jewel and would have been happy to have someone come right over! The spring clean is taking place very soon and close attention will be paid to the carpets. However, thank you very much for seeing through this one small concern and enjoying Caskey's Cache! Did you have an opportunity to flounder fish or go crabbing? If not, maybe next time! We hope to see you again soon!
We enjoyed the place. Plenty of room. Better if all bedrooms under one door.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Caskey's Cache! It is very roomy and didn't you love being on the canal! Come back to Litchfield again - soon!
great location. the house was nice,but the carpet was stained. i did'nt realize it was a pet friendly home.we also had a little ant problem,but overall our stay was good. litchfield real estate goes above and beyond to make sure you feel at home. we will use litchfield realty again but probably stay in a different house. the beach is clean and uncrowded and close to myrtle beach attractions.we love it here.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay in Caskey's Cache! We are sorry the house wasn't cleaned up to your expectations. We try to make sure carpets stay clean, but when you get into the height of the rental season, it sometimes is difficult! Thank you for the compliment on Litchfield Real Estate! We strive to help each of our guests have a fun-filled, memorable family vacation. Litchfield Beach is magical...we're glad you discovered it! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
This is a fantastic home that is pet friendly. The home is currently remodeled with enough space for family and pets. The deck is plenty big for fishing or just relaxing. I would definitely recommend to anyone.
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Caskey's Cache! It is wonderful the home is pet-friendly, because so many want to bring their "four-legged family member" on vacation, too! Please come back to see us - soon!

provided by FlipKey